My Card Making Journey

This card making journey has been two years in the making. At first I wanted a sturdy card base on which I could display my original cross stitch designs and maybe sell at craft shows. Well I think I spent a whole year just learning about the different card styles. The basics are bifold, quarter fold. Through internet research I discovered that there are many many more card styles. Wow. They have names like easel, twisted easel, scalloped, shutter, spinner, glider, push/pull, pop up. There are different weights of card stock too. There is plain, textured and glitter card stock. There is also designer paper which comes in 8.5″ X 11″ and 12″ x12″. Some of the 12″ X 12″ is even double sided. There are special glues and adhesives. There are special mounting tape, adhesive dots and strips and myriad of tape dispensers. I feel like Alice & I’ve fallen into Wonderland. There are scrap booking/ card making retreats. There are brand name companies which sell paper making products. There are even special inks! There are die punch machines, binders and punches. There are even software programs to go with the machines & free templates, and something called Svg. files. I’m hooked.

I decided to narrow down what style card I wanted, sizes and themes. I learned that custom sizes are not a problem because you can always make your own envelopes. After buying so many supplies that you have to create a special space then I decided I may as well make cards to sell. I also decided to save my paper scraps to reuse with a mold and deckle to make my OWN paper! Oh, did I mention I got a stamp making machine to form my own original stamps? I wanted everything of mine to be unique. Well it’s year two and I’m closer to opening an Etsy shop. I have about 30 different cards to make which includes at least five different themes. What have I done? I’m having a great time on this journey and I’ve been able to get help from online friends in critiquing my cards. Is this scary and new? Yep. Is it worth going forward to try something new? You bet! Have fun on your paper journey.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Robert Anton
    Dec 04, 2012 @ 05:04:23

    Sounds wonderful and it’s always good to embark on a new journey. When can I buy some Valentine, Christmas, or birthday cards?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

